The awards have been offered during the opening ceremony of the Biennale May 7th morning time in the Daniel Sorano theater of Dakar under the chairmanship of the president of the République of Sénégal, Maître Abdoulaye Wade and his wife in front of a crowded concert room and in a musical and festive atmosphere . Also present at the forum: Marylin Martin, president of the jury and curator, Rémi Sagna, representing the Francophonie international Organization, Mr Ndene Ndiaye Prime minister of Senegal, Gérard Sénac , manager of Eiffage Sénégal and president of the orientation comittee of the Biennale, Ousseynou Wade, general secretary of the Biennale.

Discover Dak’Art 2010 prizes-winners !:

-  "Léopold Sédar SENGHOR" Great Prize offered by the President of the République of Sénégal , Maître Abdoulaye Wade (value: 5 millions F cfa). The Vives Voix organization offers also to the laureat a one month residency in Dakar:

Moridja KITENGE BANZA (Democratic Republic of Congo)

Read more:

- Prize offered by the Minister of Culture given by Ms Viviane Wade (value: 2 millions F cfa):

Mouna JEMAL SIALA (Tunisia) et Svea JOSEPHY (South Africa)

-  Prize of the Francophonie International Organization offered by Rémi Sagna, representing the Francophonie international Organization. This prize is to award a french speaking artist. The laureat is chosen by the jury. He will benefit of an artist residency in France:

Barkinado BOCOUM (Senegal)


- Prize of the Thamy Mnyele Foundation of Nederlands offered by Ms Pauline Burmann, head of the Foundation. The foundation choose the laureat . He win 3 months residency in Nederlands:

Hasan & Husain ESSOP (South Africa)

Read more:

- Fondation Thamgidi prize. Ms Sithabile Mlotshwa, manager of the foundation offered a 3 months residency in Beijing (China) :

Nabil EL MAKHLOUFI (Morocco)

Read more on:

- Centre Soleil d’Afrique prize (Mali) . The manager of the organization, Hama Goro offered an artist residency of 3 weeks in Mali:

Nirveda ALLECK (Mauritius island)


Fondation Jean Paul Blachère prizes : this prizes has been offered monday may 10th. The 5 laureats are :
- Jean Katambayi Mukendi (Congo RDC)
- Mario BENJAMIN (Haïti)
- Maksaens DENIS (Haïti)
- Serge Alain NITEGEKA (Burundi)
- Moridja KITENGE BANZA (Congo RDC)
The Foundation offers 5 artists residencies in France. Laureats are chosen by the Foundation.
Read more on:

- AICA prize for encouragement for the young critic: International Association for the Art critics will award a young art critic.
Read more on :

- Read more about Dak’Art partners: Partners & sponsors

Dak'Art 2010 du 7 mai au 7 juin 2010, Dakar Senegal | Contact | News | Site Map |  RSS 2.0 |